Homework Help
Elementary School • Writing & Reports

Tips for Using Databases
http://librarianbrain.wordpress.com/how-to-videos/
Watch short videos to learn how to use a specific database.


Writing and Citing  http://hottopics.lvccld.org/writing
Confused about writing your next paper? Homework help is just a click away. You'll find information, guides to writing, live on-line tutors, and more. Don't forget to visit the "Citing" links to complete your papers.


Basic Skills & Help

Evaluating Website Content  http://www.eduplace.com/kids/usingweb/index.html
Is the website a hoax or real? The links here will help you to learn to evaluate websites when doing your homework.

Study Stack  http://www.studystack.com/
Create flash cards to help you study. All subject areas are covered.


Book Reports

How to Write a Book Report  http://kids.usa.gov/articles/book-report/index.shtml
Writing a book report can be a lot of fun. It gives you a chance to read a new book and then tell your teacher and friends what you thought about it.

Slime Kids  http://www.slimekids.com/
Check out this great website for middle school and elementary school-age kids with book trailers, language arts games, and much more!


Study Aids

Fact Monster  http://www.factmonster.com/
Almanacs, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and more.

Handwriting for Kids  http://www.handwritingforkids.com/handwrite/cursive/animation/lowercase.htm
Not exactly books, but here's help learning to write in cursive writing. How do you make those curvy letter? See it here!


Dictionaries

Merriam Webster’s Word Central   http://www.wordcentral.com/
Easy to use dictionary and thesaurus!


Grammar

Painless Junior Grammar  http://ebooks.lvccld.org/ContentDetails.htm?ID=243EB0A3-1482-4AE7-A1F0-7A64AB089016
Students in third and fourth grades will value this instructive and entertaining journey to Grammar World, where kids have fun while they develop their facility in correct English usage.


Tools to Use for Reports or Papers

Bibliography Help  http://www.downersgrovelibrary.org/kids/homework/bibliography_help.php
Help with citations and more!

Citation Builder  http://0-www.worldbookonline.com.ilsweb.lvccld.org/pl/referencecenter/citation
Need help citing a work for your paper? This citation builder will help you build it correctly.

Essays to Write  http://www.enchantedlearning.com/essay/
If you need help coming up with ideas for your essay, this is the resource for you!


Encyclopedias

Britannica Kids  http://kids.britannica.com/
A-Z information from the Encyclopedia Britannica for Kids!

Children's Illustrated Encyclopedia  http://0-go.galegroup.com.ilsweb.lvccld.org/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780756672546&v=2.1&u=lvccld_main&it=etoc&p=GVRL&sw=w
Covers entries ranging from Abolitionist movement to Zoos.


© 2006-2014 Las Vegas-Clark County Library District